Hard Peaks

I attempted the Reine De Saba (Chocolate and Almond Cake) and my favorite part was pulverizing the almonds. Tip…use a tablespoon of sugar per cup of almonds so that they wont become oily and unusable when pulverizing. The part that was most gratifying was soft peaks and hard peaks on those egg whites. It felt much like a milestone for a novice.

I had to use a 9″ round cake pan though the recipe called for an 8″ round. My failure…I forgot to consider the heat dispersion and thereby reduce the time, so I cooked the cake all the way through (It was supposed to remain slightly undone in the center to create a creamy texture).

My save…I perfected the Glacage au Chocolate (chocolate icing) and it wrapped the cake with aesthetic decadence. Save.

This was not the most amazing chocolate cake, but it was extremely good. Maybe I’ll get it right next time with the creamy quality.

[Recipe source: Julia Child, Mastering the Art of French Cooking]

Leave a comment

Filed under Comments from Faith, Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Sweets

Leave a Reply

