Southwest Eggrolls

My dad and brother (still bachelor-ing it out while my mom is back home in the Philippines) came over to join Luke and I for some Sunday lunch.  I made Jerk-rubbed Catfish and Southwest eggrolls:

Eggroll

Saute the chicken in a drizzle of peanut oil and season with garlic salt.

Remove the chicken. Once cooled enough to handle, shred the chicken.

Set aside the tortillas on a plate (you will microwave them later before wrapping to make them pliable)

Saute (mostly just to heat) the remaining ingredients WITHOUT the cheese.  Once the corn and peppers are tender, add the chicken and the cheese.  Stir until it melts. Remove from heat.

Place the tortillas on a plate and cover with a paper towel. Microwave for about 15 seconds.

Portion the mixture onto the tortilla and wrap. [Fold bottom point over mixture, then fold in each side. Then roll eggroll up remaining wrapper. You can seal the final point with a brush of water or toothpick.]

Most recipes say to freeze your eggrolls for about 4 hours, but I cooked mine right away.  I pan fried them in only about 3 tablespoons of peanut oil.  They cook fast.  The higher the heat, the less oil your eggrolls will absorb.

To serve, cut them in half and arrange.  Serve with a dipping sauce if you want, but these can stand on their own two feet.

DIPPING SAUCE

Chipotle or avocado dipping sauce is typical.  I did not have the right items on hand, so I made this:

3 tablespoons light mayo (Smart Balance with omega 3)

2 tablespoons fat free sour cream

a dash of cayenne

1/8 cumin

1/4 chili powder

garlic powder

1/4 paprika (for color)

garnish with parsley

Unfortunately (yet, awesomely so), they were consumed before I had a chance to snap a picture! Of all the fancy and gourmet things I have made, my dad claims this was the best thing he’s ever tasted. Ha!

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Man Food, Recipes

2 responses to “Southwest Eggrolls

  1. This is seriously one of my favorite meals! Baby, you are awesome!

  2. PG pogi

    I sure had a “roll” in this fabulous meal! isa pa please=)

Leave a Reply

